Gemstone Color Specifications

Many are unfamiliar with the meaning and power behind their gemstone beads coloring. The color itself is believed to contain metaphysical energy. For example, numerous advertising agencies choose their bead colors in a way that which invokes desire on the buyer. Or how Interior Designers use different color panels to create a calm, exiting, or cheerful room vibration. We are constantly affected by the colors in our surroundings everyday. Thus, it is important to understand each colors meaning when choosing gemstone beads. Each gemstone emanates a unique type of energy. Below is a list of ten different gemstone colors and their meanings to get you started.

#1 Red

Gemstone Color - Red

Red is a color that emanates the energies of action, courage, vitality, and confidence. It is also often associated with heat and warmth. In some cases it can even mean danger. However, it strongly symbolizes vivacity and vitality because red is the color of blood which gives us life. Red causes one to focus upon the essence of life and to make it worth living emphasising survival. It is also regarded as a color of lust and passion. Red gemstones are typically utilized in strengthening the body and promoting vitality, power, courage, and a healthy sex drive. Many wear red gemstone beads to stimulate their energy level. Ruby, Red Tiger eye, Red Jasper, Red Coral, Red Calcite, Mookaite, Bloodstone, and Garnet all are stones classified as red gems.

#2 Pink

Gemstone Color - Pink

Pink is the universal color of love. It is also a symbol for beauty and love. Pink is generally a very quiet color favored by lovers of beauty. A pink gemstone is typically utilized to promote love, order, self worth, and serves as a protector against violence as well as aggression. Pink gemstones are worn to stimulate energies of beauty and love. Rose Quartz, Pink Opal, Pink Mangano Calcite, Pink Sapphire, Pink Tourmaline, Pink Halite, Stilbite, Petalite, Chalcedony, Rhodonite, Rhodochrosite, Unakite, and Danburite are all stones classifies as pink gems.

#3 Brown

Gemstone Color - Brown

Brown is viewed as a symbol for earth, convention, and order. Brown can be mixed with many different surroundings as it is a mixture itself of red, blue, and yellow. There are several different tones and shades of brown available and each carry their own unique energy and effect. Brown has the ability to create a stabilizing energy as the red hue gives it energies of practicality. While the hues of blue and yellow bring mental focusing energies. Although, too much brown can dull you creating a feeling of solitude allowing you to hide in the background and remain unnoticed. Contrary to this factor, countless other brown gems create feelings of warmth, wholesomeness, dependability, naturalness, and comfort. Brown gemstones provide a grounding force promoting clear thinking and stability. Tiger Eye, Bronzite, Sunset Jasper, Tourmaline, Mahogany Obsidian, Agate, Boulder Opal, Stromatolite, African Brown Rhyolite, Aragonite, Axinite, and Petrified wood all are classified as brown gemstones.

#4 Orange

Gemstone Color - Orange

Orange is the symbol for vitality with endurance. This color is known for stimulating creativity and enthusiasm. It is said that people who adore orange are typically thoughtful and sincere. Orange gemstones are popularly utilized to promote a sense of personal power, proving helpful for those with low self esteem issues. Wearing an orange gemstone will help to stimulate your energies of creativity, mental sharpness, and ability to accept change. Orange gemstones have also aided wearers during moments of shock and/or stress - helping to maintain a more balanced emotional state. Orange also has the ability to help wearers embrace new ideas with excitement, and encourage one to explore their options. Amber, Orange Calcite, Orange Elestial, Orange Kyanite, Carnelian, Sunstone, Fire Opal, Fire Agate, Tangerine Quartz, Goldstone, and Peach Moonstone all fit into the classification of orange gemstones.

#5 Yellow

Gemstone Color - Yellow

Yellow is a symbol for happiness, joy, wisdom, and intellectual ability. People of a higher intellect tend to favor yellow. Yellow is known for bringing an energy of clarity and awareness to a person, just like that of radiant sunny day. Citrine, Amber, Lemon Quartz, Honey Calcite, Imperial Topaz, Sulphur, Yellow Jasper, Yellow Fluorite, Yellow Agate, Yellow Opal, and Yellow Jade are all stones classified as yellow gems.

#6 Green

Gemstone Color - Green

Green is a symbol of nature, life, fertility, well being, and self-respect. Green is said to host the powerful energies of growth, nature, and the desire to expand. Green brings a sense of balance and order. In order to change and transform, growth is necessary - thus, green evokes the energy to sustain change. Wearers of green invite growth and healthy relationships into their life. Apple Green Turquoise, Emerald, Green Chlorite, Petrified Green Opal, African Green Jasper, Green Sardonyx, Canadian Jade, African Jade, Malachite, Green Aventurine, Moss Agate, China Chrysoprase, Epidot, Dioptase, Bloodstone, and Peridot all fall into the classification of green gemstones.

#7 Blue

Gemstone Color - Blue

Blue is a symbol of spirituality, peace, youth, and truth. Blue is a color of pure sincerity, inspiration, and spirituality. Wearers of blue gemstones such as blue topaz, and sapphire tend to feel more calm and at ease. While blue gemstones such as azurite, and lapis lazuli are known to heighten a wearer's psychic power. Dark blue gemstones are meant to stabilize energies, but all shades of blue will aid in easier communications between yourself and others. Blue Fluorite, Blue Tiger Eye, Blue Crazy Lace Agate, Blue Apatite, Blue Quartz, Blue Aragonite, Blue Tourmaline, Blue Calcite, Lapis Lazuli, Rainbow Fluorite, Tanzanite, Larimar, and Sodalite are all stones classified as blue gems.

#8 Purple

Gemstone Color - Purple

Purple is a symbol for magic, royalty, and mystery. Purple is known to give a wearer peace of mind and spiritual fulfillment. Purple is an ideal color to utilize during mediation as it is associated with purification. Wearers use purple gemstones to hone in their psychic awareness, boost fantasy, and encourage imagination as it is said to connect you with your higher self. Purple is also a color of good judgement. Lavender Quartz, Purpurite, Purple Crazy Lace Agate, Amethyst, Lepidolite Jasper, Ametrine, Charoite, Sugilite, Cape Amethyst, Fluorite, Lepidolite Jasper, and Sugilite Jasper are all classified as purple gemstones.

#9 White

Gemstone Color - White

White is the symbol for cleanliness and purity. Although, white may not exactly be a true 'color', it is the manifestation of the presence of all colors. The energy of light. White means completion as well as wholeness. Often representing truth and openness in several cultures. Wearers of white give a pure and wholesome impression on those around them. African Opal, White Opal, White Selenite, White Topaz, White Howlite, White Kunzite, Mexican Zebra Jasper, White Aragonite, Bamboo Leaf Agate, Tourmalated Quartz, Sesame Jasper, Magnesite, Moonstone, Crystal Quartz, Fossil Coral, Scolecite, and Opalite all fall into the classification of white gemstones.

#10 Black

Gemstone Color - Black

Black is the symbol of resilience and self control. Black gemstones project energies of protection as it is the absence of light, thus utilized to invoke invisibility. Black is also utilized to create a bold statement of self control as well as mystery. Black gemstone wearers often want to seem inconspicuous around their peers. Black Jasper, Black Onyx, Obsidian, Black Rustic Quartz, Black Fire Agate, Rainbow Obsidian, Natural Silver Quartz, Black Tourmaline, Black Kyanite, Spinel, and Jet are all classified as black gemstones.